What I Did on My Summer Vacation

Our 2 months summer break has come to an end, and we were back to homeschooling this week.  So what did I do all summer to occupy my copious amounts of  time?  In no particular order, here’s what I did on my summer vacation:

  • Attended the San Antonio Catholic Homeschool Conference
  • Took the kids and my parents to the Texas Folklife Festival
  • Took the oldest 3 to swimming lessons twice a week for 4 weeks
  • Took several kids to the doctor for check-ups
  • Celebrated the 30th anniversary to the diaconate with a long-time family friend
  • Helped plan the upcoming school year for the Catholic homeschool group we belong to
  • Rearranged the classroom for the next school year
  • Hosted dinner for a priest friend of ours who was visiting from out of town
  • Dusted all the blinds and washed all the windows in the house (with the awesome assistance of my husband)
  • Attended a wedding in Dallas for one of my dear college friends
  • Visited Medieval Times and In-n-Out while in Dallas
  • Delivered meals to two friend in our homeschool group
  • Took the oldest 2 to vacation bible school for a week
  • Took the kids to the children’s museum
  • Got my haircut with the girls (since I only go about once a year, this is worth mentioning!)
  • Went peach picking, made 2 peach pies, 2 peach crisps, peach ice cream, and numerous jars of peach jam
  • Took the family on our annual anniversary beach weekend trip to Corpus Christi
  • Made birthday cakes for 2 of the kids, and of course celebrated their birthdays
  • 1184766_10204312521002546_6024322752453520207_n 10440627_10204206774158941_4252563393464026872_n
  •  Made a month’s worth of lesson plans for a 2nd grader and 1st grader

and finally, my favorite

  • Read all 7 Harry Potter books

Whew, I need a break from all that vacation!

Leave a Reply

